Baartman, Buchert make Independent softball honors

June 29, 2017

The 2017 RTR Softball letter winners, from left to right in front, are—Courtney Snyder, Maryn Johansenand Makenzie Buchert; in back are Ashley Owen, Jenny Reyes, Rhaegyn Petersen, Cora Alderson, Morgan Johnson and Kylea Baartman.

By Jim Kopel
Tribute Sports

Kylea Baartman was re­cently named to the Mar­shall Independent first team. Mackenzie Buchert of the Lady Knights was named to the second team. There were nine girls named to each team from the area.
Baartman, only a ninth grader this past year, was the top pitcher for the Lady Knights and also the lead­ing hitter with an average of .492. She led the team with 20 RBIs and 31 total hits. As a pitcher, she was the third leading pitcher in the area with strikeouts. She fanned 87 batters.

For the full story, read this week’s Tyler Tribute.

RTR Knights softball players Kylea Baartman (left) and Morgan Johnson (right) received all-conference plaques at the recent awards ceremony for the 2017 season. Makenzie Buchert (middle) received Honorable Mention recognition.